top of page




The Malaysian Warriors Australian Rules Football Club (MWAFC) was founded in the late 1980s by Aussie Expats working and living in Kuala Lumpur, who carried with them, a love of the “Great Game”. The MWAFC was initially known as the MARK Tigers (Malaysian Australian Rules Kelab) and the team recorded their first win in August 1994 against the RAAF in Butterworth, Penang. 

Between 1993 and 1997 the club became consistent contenders on and off the field in Asia. Games were mainly played against the RAAF in Penang, the SingaporeWombatsand the Jakarta Bintangs. 

The team boasted greats such as Brian “Hammo” Hammond (MARK Captain/ Coach, ex Dandenong full forward), Peter “Cooms” Coomer (President and ex Fitzroy U19’s player), Greg “Carps” Carpenter (Ex East Perth Captain), David “Whitey” White (Team Manager), Jason “Stealth Bomber” Winter, David “The Quiet Architect” Ogilvy, Mark “Werns” Werner, Johnny “Lips” Lipshut, Phil “White Gook” Lee and Paul “Macca” McCalman. 

The name change came in 2000 along with a rejuvenation of the club, as the economic crisis in Asia had left the player contingent in a shambles. The challenge to go hunting for new recruits and again rebuild was taken up by Wern’s, Stealth,Whiteyand Macca. 

Since then, the club has continued to grow in strength and the Malaysian Warriors have carved out a reputation for their fierce grit and determination to establish a very strong position as one of the most formidable tribes in the region. 

The success of the Malaysian Warriors, as for any club in the region, would not be possible without the generous support of its sponsors who help maintain that the club and the Asian Australian Rules Football League continues to go from strength to strength.

As a past coach and Ex-Essendon star, Geoff Blethyn said 


“Every Man Lives, But Not Every Man Becomes a Warrior”


2012 - Manila Cup - Champions

2015 - AFL Asia Championship - Runner-Up

2017 - AFL Asia Masters -  WINNERS

2017 - AFL Asia Championship - WINNERS

2019 - AFL Master, Phuket - WINNERS



We are an Australian Rules Football Club based in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia and were established in 1992. We are the 2017 Division 1 Asian Champions and are proud hosts of the 2018 Asian Champs tournament.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

The Warrior Women were formed in 2017 by a group of passionate and talented people. The ladies have had a successful start with win's against Cambodia, Vietnam and they we crowned 2018 Indo China Cup Champions!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

The Malaysian Warriors Auskick program provides kids with a fun and safe Australian Football experience. The program is not just about introducing Australian children to Australian Football, it is also about promoting AFL to the different nationalities in Malaysia.

  • Facebook


We are here to answer any questions you might have! 

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page